# STATE OF MINNESOTA

## IN SUPREME COURT

#### C4-89-2099

### In Re: Videotape\CIC Pilot Project Evaluation Committee

, **E** . . . .

#### ORDER

WHEREAS, the State Court Administrator was directed by 1989 Laws of Minnesota, Chapter 335, Article I, Section 3, Subdivision 5 to install and operate video taping equipment in at least three district courts and the court of appeals, and a one-time appropriation of \$204,000 was provided for installation and operation, and

WHEREAS, the State Court Administrator was directed by 1989 Laws of Minnesota, Chapter 335, Article I, Section 3, Subdivision 5 to install and operate a computer integrated court (CIC) reporting system in the Second Judicial District, and a one-time appropriation of \$32,000 was provided for installation and operation, and

WHEREAS, this Court by an order dated November 17, 1990, authorized the installation of videotaped court reporting systems in the Third, Fifth, and Seventh Judicial Districts, adopted rules of procedure for the pilot courtrooms, and directed the State Court Administrator to file a final evaluation report no later than July 1, 1991, and

WHEREAS, an Evaluation Committee will assist the State Court Administrator in making a final report on both the videotaped and computer integrated court reporting systems to this Court and to the Legislature,

NOW, THEREFORE, IT IS ORDERED:

1. The following persons are hereby appointed as members of the Videotape/CIC Pilot Project Evaluation Committee:

Hon. Roger M. Klaphake, Chair Judge, Court of Appeals 1300 Landmark Tower St. Paul, Mn 55101

Hon. George A. Marshall Chief Judge, Fifth Judicial District Lyon County Courthouse Marshall, MN 56258 Hon. Lawrence T. Collins Chief Judge, Third Judicial District P.O. Box 37 Winona, MN 55987

Hon. Kathleen Weir Judge, Seventh Judicial District Clay County Courthouse Moorhead, MN 56560 Hon. Robert A. Forsythe Judge, Fourth Judicial District 12-C Government Center Minneapolis, MN 55487

2.3

Timothy Ostby Deputy District Administrator Stearns County Courthouse P.O. Box 1836 St. Cloud, MN 56302 Donald Cullen District Administrator 2200 2nd Street S.W. Suite 101 Rochester, MN 55902

Dave Carlson Court Administrator Blue Earth County Courthouse Mankato, MN 56001

Lana Fruke Official Stenographic Court Reporter Juvenile Center 480 St. Peter Street St. Paul, MN 55102 Cher Hager Official Electronic Court Reporter Olmstead County Courthouse Rochester, MN 55901

- 2. Frederick K. Grittner, Supreme Court Administrator and Clerk of Appellate Courts, shall serve as staff member to the Evaluation Committee.
- 3. The Evaluation Committee shall submit its report to the State Court Administrator no later than June 1, 1991.

DATED: July 17, 1990

BY THE COURT:

Grouih Chief Justice

OFFICE OF APPELLATE COURTS

JUL 17 1990

